About Me

I'm Ellen, mama to Ted, Sam and Mae and wife to Paul. We live in Boulder, Colorado with our old black Lab mutt, Ole, and stray-kitty-who-adopted-us Fuffles. Ted and Sam are eighteen months apart and very good friends. Ted is very active and mischievous, while Sam is more laid back and sweet. Mae was adopted from China in 2006 at nine months old. She is exactly two years younger than Sam, though they function almost like twins. They play beautifully together (when Ted is absent) and Mae has a very maternal manner about her. Who do you think zips Sam's coat for him? Yup - Mae does. I'm sure she'll be tying his shoes next. 

When we began dipping our toes into the world of International Adoption, we knew we'd be in for an adventure, and we were right! It's been an amazing few years of exponential growth that have taught our family so many wonderful lessons about patience, acceptance and love. There have been many challenges along the way, though each one has brought us closer to each other. 

I can't imagine life without our daughter in it. She is the icing on the cake. I invite you to browse the archives and watch how we became a family. I hope you'll stay and read about some of our successes, as well as offer suggestions to the challenges we still face. I welcome you into our little web family and hope you feel comfortable here. 

I love emails and comments and respond to each one as quickly as I can. I am also a bit of a Facebook addict and am starting to enjoy Twitter too. If you'd like to add me to your reader, I'd be honored! 

Much love from our family to yours,


Ellen Kessie Moeller (Facebook)

ellensgrind (Twitter)